Current Certification Standards 

Standards currently used in the Credential Assessment Program (CAP) for applicants as a professional forester (four-year baccalaureate degree program.


An introduction to the Canadian standards for professional forester certification.

Standard 1

Tree and Stand DynamicsKnowledge of tree and stand  establishment, growth and mortality, forms the basis of understanding how the forest ecosystem  functions.

Standard 2

Communications, Critical Reasoning and Leadership: Clear and concise oral and written communication skills are essential for Canada's professional foresters to be able to articulate goals, objectives, information and decisions to a wide range of audiences. Leadership requires the ability to effectively use communication and reasoning skills.

Standard 3

Forest Management: Forest ecosystem management balances ecological, social and economic demands with the capacity of forest resources to provide for present and future values.

Standard 4

Economics and Administration of Forestry: Utilizing forest resources requires knowledge of the principles of allocation of limited resources among competing interests and the economic, policy and administrative forces that cause change.

Standard 5

Leadership Skills: Professional foresters must possess critical reasoning skills to analyze and communicate complex ideas clearly and to provide advice to a range of clients.

Standard 6

Information Acquisition and Analysis: The management of Canada's natural resources requires the acquisition and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data.

Standard 7

Professionalism and Ethics: Professional foresters have integrity and are competent, independent and accountable for their actions and decisions. They maintain professional standards and conduct based on ethical principles including life-long learning and continuing competency requirements.


Additional information to assist in understanding and implementing the credential standards.

© 2020 by FPRC