Évaluations des titres de compétence

L'ORFPC a développé et adopté un ensemble commun de normes de certification académique et d'expérience de travail basées sur les compétences que tous les candidats à la pratique professionnelle doivent respecter pour s'inscrire.

L'ORFPC dispose d'un processus d'évaluation des titres de compétences (CAP) pour les candidats formés à l'étranger ou diplômés de programmes postsecondaires non agréés au Canada. Le processus a été adopté par la plupart des organismes de réglementation provinciaux au Canada et comprend l'évaluation des études, de la formation et de l'expérience actuelles d'un demandeur afin de déterminer dans quelle mesure les compétences des normes de certification ont été respectées. Les candidats qui souhaitent postuler auprès de la province de Québec, doivent en faire la demande directement à l'OIFQ à https://oifq.com/devenir-ingenieur-forestier.

 

Un manuel du processus d'évaluation des titres de compétences a été préparé pour guider les candidats formés à l'étranger et les diplômés de programmes non agréés au Canada. Le manuel décrit le fonctionnement du processus d'évaluation, les étapes à suivre pour entrer dans la pratique forestière professionnelle au Canada et les informations et documents requis lors de la présentation d'une demande.

Tous les candidats au CAP sont évalués au niveau de compétence et d'expérience attendu d'un nouveau diplômé d'un programme forestier accrédité.

Dans le cadre de ce processus de demande, le premier point de contact pour un demandeur potentiel est l'organisme de réglementation de la province où une personne souhaite exercer la foresterie de façon professionnelle.

Tous les candidats des programmes non agréés doivent, avant de faire une demande auprès de l'organisme de réglementation provincial, participer à une évaluation afin de déterminer s'ils satisfont aux exigences de compétence pour accéder à la profession. L'évaluation identifie toute lacune dans les compétences communiquée au demandeur et au régulateur.

Les régulateurs travaillent ensuite avec des candidats individuels pour déterminer comment combler les lacunes en matière de compétences.

New Standards for Forester Credential Assessment

January 1, 2021

The Forest Professional Regulators of Canada (FPRC) - Central Assessment Authority (CAA) has adopted new certification standards for professional forestry practice and a new online system for the Credential Assessment Process (CAP).

The final intake for CAP applications under the previous process was April 2021. Individuals who plan to submit their CAP applications after April 2021 must use the current certification standards and the new online system. 

For more information please contact the applicable provincial regulator directly.

Fees

L'ORFPC dispose d'un processus d'évaluation des titres de compétences (CAP) pour les candidats formés à l'étranger ou diplômés de programmes postsecondaires non agréés au Canada. Le processus a été adopté par la plupart des organismes de réglementation provinciaux au Canada et comprend l'évaluation des études, de la formation et de l'expérience actuelles d'un demandeur afin de déterminer dans quelle mesure les compétences des normes de certification ont été respectées. Les candidats qui souhaitent postuler auprès de la province de Québec, doivent en faire la demande directement à l'OIFQ à https://oifq.com/devenir-ingenieur-forestier.

 

Un manuel du processus d'évaluation des titres de compétences a été préparé pour guider les candidats formés à l'étranger et les diplômés de programmes non agréés au Canada. Le manuel décrit le fonctionnement du processus d'évaluation, les étapes à suivre pour entrer dans la pratique forestière professionnelle au Canada et les informations et documents requis lors de la présentation d'une demande.

Tous les candidats au CAP sont évalués au niveau de compétence et d'expérience attendu d'un nouveau diplômé d'un programme forestier accrédité.

Individus formés à l'étranger et diplômés de programmes non agréés

view forest.png

INDIVIDUS ET DIPLÔMÉS FORMÉS À L'INTERNATIONAL DE PROGRAMMES POSTSECONDAIRES NON ACCRÉDITÉS

La demande pour le processus d'évaluation des titres de compétences (CAP) est hébergée sur un site Web externe. Le portail des candidats permet à un candidat potentiel à la pratique professionnelle forestière au Canada d'accéder aux renseignements et aux documents requis pour soumettre une demande.

 

Les demandeurs doivent communiquer avec l'organisme de réglementation provincial applicable directement avant de commencer une demande.

Diplômés de programmes accrédités

foresters working.png

PROGRAMMES POSTSECONDAIRES CANADIENS ACCRÉDITÉS

L'obtention d'un diplôme d'un programme d'études postsecondaires accrédité par l'ORFPC certifie automatiquement que les candidats sont admissibles à chacune des associations de réglementation du Canada. Les organismes de réglementation provinciaux peuvent imposer des exigences académiques supplémentaires qui sont uniques à la région (p. Ex., La politique forestière provinciale) et exigent généralement une période d'expérience de travail qui n'est pas acquise dans le cadre du programme d'études postsecondaires accrédité.

Les candidats doivent contacter directement l'organisme de réglementation provincial applicable.

Bridge-Training-Module-201707-final.png

BRIDGE TRAINING FOR FORESTERS

For applicants that have gaps identified in their assessments, there are opportunities for bridge training to fulfill the competency requirements. 

Bridge training programs are available for foresters which provide training and assessment for the 35 demonstrable competencies required for entry into the profession of forestry in Canada (2008 Certification Standards for the Profession of Forestry in Canada). This training will be updated; timeline TBD. 

Third-party suppliers are responsible for training module registration, setting of participant fees, training delivery and participant evaluations.  Please contact the training supplier with any questions about their modules, or to register.

For more details, see the:

Credential Assessments

FPRC has developed and adopted a common set of competency-based academic and work experience certification standards that all applicants for professional practice are required to meet in order to become registered.

All internationally trained individuals or applicants from non-accredited programs must, prior to making an application with a provincial regulator, participate in a credential assessment to determine if they meet the certification standard requirements for entry into the profession. The assessment identifies any gaps in competencies that are communicated to the regulator and the applicant. 

Regulators then work with individual applicants to determine how competency gaps can be filled to enable registration as a forest professional.

Under this application process, the first point of contact for a potential applicant is the regulatory body in the province where a person wishes to practice forestry professionally .

FPRC has a credential assessment process (CAP) for applicants who are internationally trained or who have graduated from non-accredited post-secondary programs in Canada. The process has been adopted by most provincial regulatory bodies in Canada and involves the assessment of an applicant’s current education, training and experience to determine the extent to which the competencies of the Certification Standards have been met. Applicants who wish to apply to the province of Québec, must apply directly to OIFQ at  https://oifq.com/devenir-ingenieur-forestier.

 

credential assessment process manual has been prepared as guidance for internationally trained applicants and graduates of non-accredited programs in Canada.  The handbook describes how the assessment process works, the steps to take to enter professional forestry practice in Canada and the information and documents required when making an application.

All CAP applicants are assessed at the level of competence and experience expected of a new graduate of an accredited forestry program.

Internationally Trained Individuals & Graduates of Non-Accredited Programs

view forest.png

INTERNATIONALLY TRAINED INDIVIDUALS & GRADUATES OF NON-ACCREDITED POST-SECONDARY PROGRAMS

The application for the Credential Assessment Process (CAP) is hosted through an external website. The applicant portal enables a prospective applicant for professional forestry practice in Canada to access the information and materials required to submit an application. 

 

Applicants must contact the applicable provincial regulator directly prior to starting an application.

Graduates of Accredited Programs

foresters working.png

ACCREDITED CANADIAN POST-SECONDARY PROGRAMS

Graduation from a post-secondary program accredited by FPRC automatically certifies applicants as application eligible for each of the regulatory associations across Canada.  The provincial regulatory bodies may impose additional academic requirements that are regionally unique (e.g., provincial forest policy) and generally require a period of work experience that is not acquired as part of the accredited post-secondary program education.

Applicants must contact the applicable provincial regulator directly.

Bridge-Training-Module-201707-final.png

BRIDGE TRAINING FOR FORESTERS

For applicants that have gaps identified in their assessments, there are opportunities for bridge training to fulfill the competency requirements. 

Bridge training programs are available for foresters which provide training and assessment for the 35 demonstrable competencies required for entry into the profession of forestry in Canada (2008 Certification Standards for the Profession of Forestry in Canada).

Third-party suppliers are responsible for training module registration, setting of participant fees, training delivery and participant evaluations.  Please contact the training supplier with any questions about their modules, or to register.

For more details, see the:

© 2020 by FPRC